Fohr U: School of Business & Influence

Nov 1, 2018

On October 12th, class was in session at our third annual influencer conference—Fohr U: School of Business & Influence. We packed the day with keynotes and panels featuring prominent, insightful influencers and hands-on workshops led by our team of experts. No buzzwords, no BS—just straight to the business of influence.

Above all, we believe the influencer industry can only move forward and grow if influencers have the proper tools to push their content and business strategies to the next level. Naturally, we created a space to foster just that.

THJ0649.jpg
THJ0653.jpg

We kicked off the day with a conversation between fashion influencer Sai De Silva @scoutthecity and Fohr CEO James Nord @jamesnord. She runs the most sought after mother-daughter fashion blog.

Up next, YouTube creators (from left to right) Arshia Moorjani @arshiamoorjani, Renee Chow @gothamista, and Erika Fox @retroflame discussed their video making processes and ethos with James. Respectively, they specialize in the niches of beauty, skincare, and fashion.

THJ0660.jpg

BMX athlete and video creator Nigel Sylvester @nigelsylvester spoke to James about his history in the sport, how started creating videos, and what’s next.

Lifestyle influencer and entrepreneur Patrick Janelle @aguynamedpatrick presented on influencer marketing in the long run. With his experience in forging strong brand relationships (American Express and Grey Goose included) and growing his following to nearly 500k, he had valuable lessons to share.

THJ0670.jpg

Tezza @tezza sat down with James to talk about her inimitable aesthetic and creative direction. She delved into her unique experience as a photographer and touched upon how she experienced rapid growth in a time when growth overall has been stagnant.

“Her passion and genuine love for creating powerful and beautiful content is evident the moment you see her,” Steffany Colleran @steffanyschoice said.

THJ0647 (1).jpg
THJ0680.jpg

James then sat down with independent communications and branding consultant Erika Bearman @erikabearman, also known in the past as “Oscar PR Girl” when she acted SVP of Global Communications at Oscar de la Renta.

THJ0681.jpg

Menswear influencer Igee Okafor @igeeokafor led a panel of his peers: (from left to right) John Philp Thompson @johnphilp3, Jeremy Mitchell @xxjmitch, and Justin Livingston @justinliv. They discussed how they understand (and double-down) on their niche, and how they use their “menswear” group to collectively raise each of their profiles. Menswear and non-menswear influencers alike appreciated their lessons in building community.

Attendees broke off into four separate workshop sessions: one for brands led by Julianne Staino from Chase, two for influencer campaigns led by Fohr’s Vice President, Grace Murray and Account Director, Jill Netzel, and one for content creation led by photographer Aaron Vazquez.

THJ0694.jpg

Finally, James delivered his keynote presentation.

“One of the things that stayed with me the most was at the end of the conference where [James] said ‘be the person that your friends are speaking to other friends about during dinner’,” Erika Batista wrote on her blog. “Use Instagram to your advantage, take that photo to the next level, write great captivating captions, make them stop scrolling when they come to your picture that day.”

We ended the day with some bubbly and charcuterie boards. Who doesn’t love a good graduation party?

THJ0712.jpg

“I can’t begin to say how happy I am that I got to attend this extremely informative conference. More than that, I left with GENUINE friends. I think it’s easy in this space to forget that actually meeting and connecting with people IRL is essential to our business,“ Alle Pierce @allepierce wrote.

THJ0714.jpg

“I took a chance & invested in myself. I took a trip up to New York (7hr drive) to attend the @fohr.co School of Business & Influence ⁣ I learned so much about the business of influencer marketing and honestly, would have never learned what I learned today anywhere else! Plus I got to meet incredible people and just learnd soooo much!! ⁣I am now more pumped than ever to keep pumping out content and end this year strong with a strategy and a plan! ⁣” Koby Lomax @kobylomax wrote.

Of course, no school is complete without class portraits. Check out the highlight reel below:

Thank you to everyone who spoke and to everyone who listened: we hope you enjoyed the day and walked away with some powerful takeaways on business and influence. Until next time!

THJ0683.jpg
Share